Gor Mahia: Ambrose Rachier Re-elected.

Ambrose Rachier

Long serving Gor Mahia administrator Ambrose Rachier is set to begin another term at the helm of the cub as the club’s Chairperson.

Rachier who has been at the helm of the club from the year 2008 when he picked the leadership from the then Chairperson of the club Erastus Okul managed to secure another four-year term at the club after it was reported that nobody applied for the position.

This means now that however much some fans and close associates of the club have been calling for the long time chairperson to retire from managing the club, Rachier will have to stick around the club till the year 2024 when the next elections will be held again.

Gor Mahia’s election have always been postponed since December 2018 when the two year term that started in 2016 ended. The term had to be extended as clubs within the Kenyan Premier League were required to conform with the Sports Act 2013.

With the club having complied with the Sports Act, the new team that is to be officially elected on 8th August will have a four-year term which is different from the two-year term that was used in the previous club constitution.

Completing another four years at the club will make Ambrose Rachier the longest-serving administrator at the club as by then, he will have stayed for a period of 16 years at the club as the chairperson. A fate that no one has ever achieved at the club since the formation of the club in the year 1968.

RELATED POSTS  AFC Leopards: The club to watch in 2020/2021 season

In his stay at the club for the last twelve years, Ambrose Rachier has led the club from grass to grace as the club has managed to win six league trophies in the last seven seasons of the Kenya Premier League with them loosing to Tusker in the 2016 campaign when the Ruaraka based team won the trophy.

Under his tutelage, Gor Mahia managed to reached the quarter finals of Africa’s Confederation Cup for the first time a fate that they only remain the first team in Kenya to have achieved.

For the scheduled online elections to be conducted on the 8th of August, other contestants are; former treasurer Sally Bolo squaring out with Francis Wasuna for the Vice Chairperson position.

Another long serving administrator at the club; Ronald Ngala will go into the ballot against Sam Ochola who is up for the position of Secretary General of the club. The outspoken Judith Nyangi will be up for the position of Honorary Treasuer against Chrisphine Okoth, Dolfina Onduto and Victor Mbaka.

Rachier will however assume his role as thee Chairperson of the club with no one having showed any interest of clinching the seat.